We are open and have taken extensive Corona safety measures for our vistors. We are looking forward to your visit!

Boeing 747

For over 50 years, the Boeing 747 has been taking to the air around the world. The starting signal for the success story was on 9 February 1969, when the prototype of the jumbo took off for the first time, setting new standards. The machine was the largest jet aircraft in the world and shaped passenger flights in the following years. Only the airbus A380 replaced the jumbo in its role as the largest airliner. However, the fascination with the Boeing 747 remained and the wide-bodied aircraft still attracts people.

A dream came true for the Technik Museum Speyer when Lufthansa succeeded in getting a huge Boeing 747 jumbo jet for the aircraft exhibition. Transporting the Giant of the Skies to Speyer was one of the biggest challenges the team at the museum had faced up to that point.

The Boeing 747 is fully accessible for our museum visitors! It is unique in the world that the cargo hold of the jumbo jet is accessible and the left wing can be climbed at a height of 20 metres. The interior trim has been partially dismantled to give an impression of the design of such a wide-bodied aircraft.

Boeing 747 Jumbo-Jet

Seit über 50 Jahren erhebt sich die Boeing 747 weltweit in die Lüfte. Der Startschuss zur Erfolgsgeschichte fiel am 9. Februar 1969, als der Prototyp des Jumbos erstmals abhob und damit neue Maßstäbe setzte. Die Maschine war das größte Düsenflugzeug der Welt und prägte in den folgenden Jahren den Passagierflug. Erst der Airbus A380 löste den Jumbo in seiner Rolle als größtes Verkehrsflugzeug ab. An der Faszination für die Boeing 747 änderte sich jedoch nichts und das Großraumflugzeug zieht die Menschen nach wie vor an.

Für das Technik Museum Speyer wurde ein Traum wahr, als es gelang, von der Lufthansa einen riesigen Boeing 747 Jumbo-Jet für die Flugzeugausstellung zu bekommen. Der Transport des Giganten der Lüfte nach Speyer war eine der größten Herausforderungen, der sich das Museumsteam bis dahin stellte.

Die Boeing 747 ist für unsere Museumsbesucher komplett begehbar! Weltweit einmalig ist, dass auch der Frachtraum des Jumbo-Jets zugänglich ist und der linke Flügel in einer Höhe von 20 Metern bestiegen werden kann. Die Innenverkleidung wurde teilweise demontiert, um einen Eindruck von der Konstruktion eines solchen Großraumflugzeuges zu geben.

Boeing 747 Artikel im ONLINE-Shop