Red Bull Stratos

In October 2012, extreme athlete and museum member Felix Baumgartner jumped with a parachute from a height of almost 40 km. Red Bull set new standards with this project: the action was a media event that attracted worldwide attention! In a specially built space capsule attached to a helium-filled high-altitude balloon, Baumgartner flew up to an altitude of 38,969 m before jumping, protected only by a custom-made pressure suit. In free fall, it reached 1,342 km/h, thus making him the first person ever to exceed the speed of sound in free fall. After 4:19 minutes, Baumgartner opened the parachute and landed in New Mexico, USA, as planned.

At the Technik Museum Speyer, this spectacular event can be relived, and not just in video sequences: the original Airstream trailer that Felix used as a retreat before and after the action was specially transported from the USA to Speyer once the mission was completed. The centrepiece of the exhibition is the original pressure suit from the first test flight: an exact equivalent of the suit used in the final flight. The exhibition complements the museum's extensive space-travel collection and can be seen daily from 9 a.m. at the Technik Museum Speyer. Admission is included in the museum's overall entry fee.

Felix Baumgartner has been a friend of the museum for years. The cooperation with Red Bull has led to more than just this wonderful Red Bull Stratos exhibition at Speyer: there's also the major special exhibition, Red Bull World of Racing, showing at the Technik Museum Sinsheim until January 2023.

Red Bull Stratos

Im Oktober 2012 sprang Extremsportler und Museumsmitglied Felix Baumgartner mit einem Fallschirm aus knapp 40 km Höhe. Mit diesem Projekt setzte Red Bull neue Maßstäbe: Die Aktion war ein weltweit beachtetes Medienereignis! In einer speziell gebauten Raumkapsel an einem mit Helium gefüllten Höhenballon flog Baumgartner auf 38.969 m Höhe, dann sprang er, nur geschützt durch einen eigens gefertigten Druckanzug, ab. Im freien Fall erreichte er 1.342 km/h und war somit der erste Mensch, der im freien Fall die Schallgeschwindigkeit überschritt. Nach 4:19 Minuten zog Baumgartner den Fallschirm und landete wie geplant in New Mexico, USA.

Im Technik Museum Speyer kann dieses spektakuläre Ereignis nicht nur in Videosequenzen nacherlebt werden: Der original Airstream-Anhänger, der Felix vor und nach der Aktion als Rückzugsort diente, wurde extra nach der Mission aus den USA nach Speyer befördert. Herzstück der Ausstellung ist der original Druckanzug des ersten Testfluges, welcher exakt dem Anzug entspricht, der beim finalen Flug verwendet wurde. Die Ausstellung ergänzt die umfangreiche Raumfahrtsammlung des Museums und ist täglich ab 9 Uhr im Technik Museum Speyer zu sehen und ist im Gesamteintrittspreis des Museums enthalten.

Felix Baumgartner ist schon seit Jahren dem Museum freundschaftlich verbunden. Auch die Zusammenarbeit mit Red Bull hat nicht nur zu dieser schönen Ausstellung "Red Bull Stratos" in Speyer geführt, sondern auch zur großen Sonderausstellung "Red Bull World of Racing", welche noch bis Januar 2023 im Technik Museum Sinsheim zu sehen ist.